With the release of ‘KINGDOM Book One,’ available everywhere via Tribl Records and Fo Yo Soul Entertainment/RCA Inspiration two days ago, GRAMMY award-winning music group Maverick City Music and 16-time GRAMMY winner Kirk Franklin are bringing the injustices surrounding mass incarceration – and the voices of 1,300 inmates – to center stage.

Here’s what the critics had to say about Maverick City:

Vulture: “… transcending”

“… a human kaleidoscope” – LA Times

“… inspiring” – Essence

“… tearing down walls in the field of religious music” – The Billboard

“… stirring the spirit” – American Songwriter

Maverick City Music recently received their first BET Awards nomination – the Dr. Bobby Jones Gospel/Inspiration Award for their song “Jireh.” Five-time BET Award winner Franklin is also nominated for his song “We Win” in this same category. The group and Franklin are set to perform on the upcoming BET Awards show, as well as part of NPR Tiny Desk’s Black Music Month (6.24), and they’ll appear on The View on Monday, June 20 (check local listings).

The Kingdom Tour continues this weekend with shows at Detroit’s Little Caesars Arena (6.18) and Pittsburgh’s PPG Paints Arena (6.19), with stops in Nashville, Los Angeles and more on the horizon. The final four performances on the tour – Kansas City, Cleveland, St. Paul, and Chicago – will be called “Kingdom Nights” and feature GRAMMY-winning artist Tamela Mann. Fans can purchase tickets to the nearly sold-out tour.

 

 

Kingdom Book 1′ Tracklist

1. Kingdom – Feat. Naomi Raine, Chandler Moore

2. Fear Is Not My Future – Feat. Brandon Lake, Chandler Moore

3. Bless Me

4. Jealous – Feat. Chandler Moore, Lizzie Morgan

5. Talkin Bout (Love) – Feat. Chandler Moore, Lizzie Morgan

6. The One You Love – Feat. Brandon Lake, Dante Bowe, Chandler Moore

7. My Life Is In Your Hands – Feat. Chandler Moore

8. Melodies From Heaven – Feat. Chandler Moore, Maryanne George

9. I Smile – Feat. Lizzie Morgan

10. Why We Sing – Feat. Brandon Lake

11. Take Me Back – Feat. Dante Bowe, Chandler Moore, Ryan Ofei

The Kingdom Tour: Maverick City Music x Kirk Franklin

Sat., June 18 | Little Caesars Arena | Detroit, MI

Sun., June 19 | PPG Paints Arena | Pittsburgh, PA

Tue., June 21 | Van Andel Arena | Grand Rapids, MI

Wed., June 22 | Schottenstein Center | Columbus, OH

Thu., June 23 | Chaifetz Arena | St. Louis, MO

Tue., June 28 | T-Mobile Center | Kansas City, MO

Thu., June 30 | Bridgestone Arena | Nashville, TN

Fri., July 1 | FedExForum | Memphis, TN

Sat., July 2 | Brandon Amphitheater | Jackson, MS

Thu., July 7 | Paycom Center | Oklahoma City, OK

Fri., July 8 | The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion | Houston, TX

Sat., July 9 | AT&T Center | San Antonio, TX

Sun., July 10 | Dickies Arena | Ft. Worth, TX

Wed., July 13 | Walmart AMP | Rogers, AR

Sat., July 16 | USANA Amphitheatre | Salt Lake City, UT

Tue., July 19 | Climate Pledge Arena | Seattle, WA

Wed., July 20 | Moda Center | Portland, OR

Fri., July 22 | Concord Pavilion | Concord, CA

Sat., July 23 | Five Point Amphitheater | Irvine, CA

Sun., July 24 | Crypto.com Arena | Los Angeles, CA

Wed., July 27 | CalCoast Credit Union Open Air Theatre | San Diego, CA

Thu., July 28 | Ak-Chin Pavilion | Phoenix, AZ

Fri., July 29 | Michelob ULTRA Arena | Las Vegas, NV

Sun., July 31 | Ball Arena | Denver, CO

Tue., Aug. 2 | T-Mobile Center | Kansas City, MO+

Thu., Aug. 4 | Blossom Music Center | Cleveland, OH+

Sat., Aug. 6 | Xcel Energy Center | St. Paul, MN+

Sun., Aug. 7 | Hollywood Casino Amp | Chicago, IL+

+features Tamela Mann

About Maverick City Music:

Maverick City Music is a multi-racial, multicultural, genre-bending group that brings hope to all, regardless of whatever race, gender preference and faith. Launched in 2018 after hosting seventeen songwriting camps, which brought together more than 100 Christian artists and songwriters, Maverick City Music is a group comprised of breakout artists including Tony Brown, Jonathan Jay, Chandler Moore, Brandon Lake, Naomi Raine, MJ George, Harold Brown, Lizzie Morgan and Aaron Moses. Recently winning their first GRAMMY for Best Contemporary Christian Music Album and completing a historic televised performance on the show, Maverick City Music was also nominated across four categories at the 2022 Billboard Music Awards earlier this year. Their latest album, ‘Kingdom Book One,’ is out now (6.17). A collaboration with Kirk Franklin, it aims to raise awareness toward the plight of mass incarceration, and fans can hear it live on their headline ‘The Kingdom Tour,’ hitting arenas across the nation through August.

About Kirk Franklin:

For more than 30 years, artist, songwriter and producer Kirk Franklin has made an indelible impact on the culture bridging Hip-Hop, Pop, and Gospel together and creating timeless hit songs and albums along the way. Kingdom is Franklin’s first studio album since his 2019 album, LONG LIVE LOVE, which debuted at # 1 on Billboard’s Top Gospel Albums chart and earned two GRAMMY Awards. In addition to this collaboration with Maverick City Music, Kingdom Business, the new television series which Franklin is an executive producer of, premiered on BET+ on May 19th.